IGNITE

Posted: January 1, 2011 in Motivation

Katy Perry is on the radio asking me if I “ever feel already buried deep, six feet under”.

Yes.

“But no one seems to hear a thing.”

No, they do not.

My fingers are tapping and the beat begins to move my spine. Before I know it, I’m leaning into my steering wheel and gunning myself forward when the light turns green.

“Do you know that there’s still a chance for you, cause there’s a spark in you”

Yes! A spark, I have a spark, a big huge spark!

“You just gotta ignite the light and let it shine. Just own the night. You’re a firework. Show em what you’re worth.”

Yes! Ignite, firework, WORTH!

I’m singing, shaking it like a bobble head, “brighter than the moon”. I pull into the driveway, unload the groceries and I’m pumped up. I just needed a little inspiration from Katy and I can see myself banging out ten pages of brilliance any minute.

Boom: I enter the kitchen door and the smell of trash hits me in the face.

I have to get that trash out of here.

Boom: My son woke up with a stomach bug and there is a basket full of vomit laundry waiting for me.

Must get his favorite blanket washed before bedtime.

Boom: I put the groceries down and notice my feet sticking to the floor where a juice box has apparently exploded.

Mop the floor.

So, exactly how do I ignite this light? I think my spark is snuffed before I can make it to the fuse.

How many people feel like this?

Today I am on a mission not only to find my spark, but also to keep it lit, and share my process in hopes of helping others along the way.

The first step: Create motion.

Homework: Identify one big goal you would like to accomplish this year and we will work backwards from there in tomorrows post.

Keep posted and stay lit! (Thanks Katy, your song is stuck in my head.)

Fiercely Yours,

Sarah O’

Comments
  1. Jennifer Long/Janus Photo Arts says:

    Just have to say I LOVE this…and that “ignition” is one of the words I picked for myself for 2011. Ironic or coincidental? Probably not. Because we all have this amazing spark in us and I think in our day-to-day adult, hectic, overwhelmed lives we have maybe — just MAYBE — a hint that it’s still there.

    Can’t wait to read all of these…you inspire me!! Light that spark! 🙂

Leave a Reply

