TIME

Posted: January 4, 2011 in Motivation

Time is similar to money as we learn how to invest our minutes wisely. When I was younger, I jumped on any opportunity that crossed my path and never asked how it would benefit me in the future.

I have no regrets about acting spontaneously, trying new things, or how often I failed. Those moments have helped me to find the clarity about who I truly am in the greater picture.

Ten years ago, I had all the time in the world and could stay up for days on end. I also wasted a lot of that time because I just did whatever I felt like doing with no goal except to become famous.

I didn’t take the time to figure out what I needed to do to make fame happen. Is that even a realistic concept? My thought process was to do as many things possible, do them amazingly, and make it hard for the people involved to forget my name.

Now, I have goals, time frames, clarity and the same strong passion, but less time. I keep asking myself whether I really don’t have the time or I don’t understand how to juggle my time. Some say it’s about building motion others claim that if you want something bad enough you’ll find the time.

Then there’s the word sacrifice. A friend once told me that if I wanted to achieve success that I would need to make sacrifices. At first I cringed because what I thought she was asking me to do was give up valuable moments with my family, another area where I don’t feel enough time exists.

However, after a while I realized she meant making cut backs on the things, we do unnecessarily just as we would if we were trying to save our money.

For example: You ride the train to work and enjoy doing crossword puzzles during that time. Ask yourself, “will this activity help me to achieve my goals this year?” Instead, try writing, drawing, or mapping out your plan. Sure, crosswords might make you feel relaxed and numb your mind, but are they costing you pieces of your dream?

Find thirty minutes a day to work on your goal. It doesn’t seem like much time, but you can read a how-to-article, write an outline, or sketch a thought. Your time invested will add up and eventually you’ll create some motion.

Sarah O’

Leave a Reply

