SPACE

Posted: January 5, 2011 in Motivation

I am sitting in my unfinished basement where I have created a makeshift office that consists of a chair that fell off a truck (literally) and a handmade desk and bookshelves. It is a good space that functions well when I can get to it.

Get to it? Yes, when I don’t have to climb a pile of cardboard waiting for recycle night or move bags of holiday crap or inch my way through strategically balanced piles of household junk.

The basement is where anything and everything goes that cannot seem to find a purposeful place elsewhere.

Every month I feel like screaming because I am always “sorting the basement” so I can have a creative space. A space that is my own, where I can leave a book open to the page I want to reread or stick post-its with ideas scribbled on them to the desktop and not worry about them disappearing.

I’m so tired of junk invading my space!

So, I’m done. This week I am clearing out everything and either giving it away or stacking it in storage. I’m tired of using my time to sort junk that I don’t care about, don’t want, or don’t know what to do with.

I want to invest more time in my writing and this junk pile is not worth the long-term investment.

Having space that is just yours is so important for so many reasons. It allows you to be who you are without worrying about everything else going on around you.

It’s true that I can write anywhere, but in the end, I know what environment maximizes my potential and that’s what I need in order to achieve my goals.

Create your space.
Sarah O’

Leave a Reply

