STARTING OVER

Posted: June 13, 2011 in Motivation
Tags:

Wow, someone’s last post was a bit cranky. I’ll admit I’m addicted to words and was in serious need of an edit.

I have decided to start over to some degree. The nice thing about being a writer is that you can always reinvent yourself. When one idea doesn’t work out how you expected it’s not necessarily rock bottom. We just get sober and move forward until the next spewing I guess.

Last weekend I attended my first writer’s conference. It has been a goal of mine since the age of sixteen to go to one of these events and it was awesome to finally check it off my list.

I’m an introvert and being around people (strangers none-the-less) is exhausting, nerve racking, but always intriguing. Writers are weird and I know this from personal experience. We have a humor that often seems to go a little too far or all the way over the edge. Each genre speaks a different language and everyone always has a pen or at least something to prick the blood from his or her veins in case of a brilliant emergency.
It has taken me all week to sort through my workshop notes, read handouts, and organize my to-do-list—but I have a plan.

Experiment.

I know I am a writer and a dreamer. However, the direction my writing will truly take I don’t know and I don’t know because I don’t challenge myself enough to find out. I have all these ideas, visions, and plans, but I lack discipline or I simply attract dramatic obstacles.

So, for now, I am going to attempt a few things and see where they take me. One day I might write about work, or my partner, or my kids, friend(s) or the odd thing I do when I read. Whatever I write about will be an experiment in finding my voice and hopefully it will find the right audience.

Leave a Reply

