SPONTANEITY

Posted: June 21, 2011 in Motivation

A woman at work told me that I need to be more spontaneous and for some dumb reason I haven’t been able to stop thinking about her comment.

At first, I agreed. Who couldn’t use a bit more spontaneity in their life?

Then I felt offended. I’ve only worked with her for a month so what does she know about me anyway?

Now, I’m sitting here wondering what it means to really be spontaneous, damn her.

I guess it’s how you perceive yourself or how others see you through their definition of the word.

When it comes to my writing, I am spontaneous. I’ve been known to cancel dates in order to write and I devote myself to wherever my words may lead.

As a mother, running out in the middle of the night to get Tylenol or mopping up a gallon of spilled milk is how I get my spontaneity fix. Let me tell you, it’s exhilarating. Perhaps, not as much as sky diving or kissing strangers in the park, but you can still get a rush.

Just the other day I found myself riding a little scooter up and down the walkway, trying to teach my son how to balance, all the while praying I wouldn’t fall and break something.

When my co-worker returns from Disney, I’m going to ask her what it means to her to be spontaneous and get some closure to this matter.

Until then… do something unplanned today…or not.

Leave a Reply

