VACATION: DAY 2

Posted: July 5, 2011 in Just Life, Motivation

On less than two hours of sleep, I still managed to make it through a full day on the beach and enjoy a late evening of fireworks with the family. To my surprise, I’m more relaxed on this trip than any time before. Part of me is wondering if it’s because I have decided to stop being miserable and take some control of my life.

Just because I feel like those around me don’t change or often refuse to change doesn’t mean I have to pick up the pattern. It is not my place to try to change others or the routine we all masterfully created in order to survive being in each other’s space.

I can’t waste my life caring about all the small things that pile and suffocate the more important aspects of my life. This topic keeps coming up for me and I believe I better start listening before the Universe decides to teach me a bigger lesson than I am prepared to learn.

So back to day two of my vacation and its highlights in no particular order:

1. I got to people watch though no one was particularly interesting. Cape May is 91.32% white and ho hum. However, I have mentally created a new chapter for my second novel and can’t wait to start working on the adventure.

2. While my son was watching the fireworks, he leaned against my body and wrapped his arm around my waist.

3. My daughter fell asleep in my arms as we took a stroll along side the ocean. I love holding her when she sleeps.

4. I’m finally drifting off to dream land.

Until the next line…

Leave a Reply

