WRITING ABOUT WRITING

Posted: July 11, 2011 in Motivation

Yesterday I heard not once, but twice that a writer should not write about their writing process. The logic being that if an Agent stumbles upon your “writing on writing” that it might damage the possible connection from them to you because they might judge you in a negative way.
This gave me much to think about on my train ride out of the city.

I love writing about writing, my process, and experimenting with different styles. I also like having an audience even if it’s only one person. This helps me stay accountable.

I can’t control who stumbles upon my words and whether they like them or not. We cannot live with these hesitations and need to follow our instinct, our vision and let the flow of motivation move us forward.

In some cases when a writer goes on tangents about how stupid agents are for rejecting their work and how the industry sucks and blah blah blah—I can possibly see how not writing about your process may be something to consider, but then again, that person doesn’t care and wants that kind of negative attention.

For others, they worry that if they post how many rejections they receive or how many times they query the same people that they appear as a failure or incompetent.
Well, don’t be surprised, but sometimes we fail and sometimes we fail harder than expected. You need to ask yourself whether failing matters. If you’re scared, of it then you will avoid the opportunities that allow you the chance at failing or you’ll try once or twice and give up.

Stop thinking so much about the outside world and allow yourself to be free from your own judgment.

Be the person you see from the inside out.

Comments
  1. Anju says:

    I think I was one of the people there who did write publicly about the writing process. I had to leave early, so I didn’t get to hear the second person advising against it.

Leave a Reply

