GOT GAME?

Posted: July 18, 2011 in Motivation

Where do you go when you need to escape from the stress?

I go to the bookstore, where I get lost in a world of titles and genres.

To keep things interesting I have created a little game for myself. I pick the car closest to the front doors and make a note of the first two numbers of the license plate. Once inside I walk that many steps forward and then that many more to my right. Wherever I stop, I stretch my right hand out to the side and examine whatever falls in its path.

It sounds dumb I know, but when you feel like getting lost, it totally works. On days when I want to disappear for longer bits of time I use the first letter of the item I have picked up and then move that many aisles forward or back.

Today I learned I will probably never become a romance writer.

[“not that there’s anything wrong with that.”]

Comments
  1. mazemangriot says:

    I do the same thing, go to the bookstore that is. I might try your game. I like to find books with animals and draw also.

  2. Anju says:

    Today I learned I will probably never become a romance writer.

    I take it you wound up in the Romance section? I’m curious as to what your thought process was. I mean, just how does a writer wind up choosing a genre?

Leave a Reply

