DISCIPLINE

Posted: July 24, 2011 in Motivation

I think the majority of famous authors like to state that they write everyday and for years, I have tried to create the discipline needed to accomplish this task. It does not always work that way for me especially this past week as I have been dealing with a family crisis.

However, just because my pen is not touching the paper doesn’t mean I’m not writing, confusing I know. My mind has been busy manipulating thought after thought and even in my worst of moments I think about writing. For me this is writing everyday. I know that when I do have the time to physically write that my brain will dump as much as it possibly can onto the page. It’s the trust I have given myself as a writer.

In the comment section of my last post, Got Game, a fellow writer asked a question about how one goes about choosing a genre. Unable to find the time or emotional ability to write on this matter, my mind mulled it over along with other potential ideas.

The question seems simple, but as time moved forward I discovered I didn’t really have an answer. For myself, I think it’s important to write what you believe in and are passionate about.
When you complete your collection of thoughts and decide to share it with others then your genre will find you.

We live in a society where everything is titled—from our sexuality to our class bracket. There’s a little bit of everything for everyone and when you can’t seem to fit in there’s always the option of “miscellaneous.”

It might be easier to first figure out what you are not. I know I am not a Romance writer because my passion is not exactly heaving with seduction.

On the days when you can’t write you can think about the things that you want to write about, work through your writing problems or merely escape into a world that has been created entirely by you, but when your time comes, write.

Comments
  1. Thanks for taking the time to think about my genre question. I ask because I seem to have ended up writing something that falls into an unexpected genre for me. I’m still doing some extensive revisions, though, so perhaps the story will morph into another category.

  2. There is a stunningly untrue statement in this post. It seethes with the need to be called out; gold star if you can spot it….

  3. Dwayne says:

    Love this post.

    I do not write every single day.

    But when I’m not writing, I’m reading. But reading as a writer. Many consider that sort of close reading a form of “writing,” as well, if you will. When your trying to figure out how a certain author achieved a certain effect, captured a certain mood, played with a certain tone, that takes time and very close analytical reading and dissection. And it’s often productive, because you often pick up on a new way of describing something or expressing something through your writing that you might not have learned had you just been relentlessly sitting at a your desk hacking away page after page, just to say you clocked in 2,000 words today.

    I prefer quality over quantity.

    Dwayne

Leave a Reply

