HURRICANE SMURRICANE

Posted: August 28, 2011 in Motivation, Process
Tags: , , , , ,

I feel sorry for hurricane Irene. She had all this momentum building, reached category four status and then dropped down to a one. What happened? Now the news people are saying she is not organized, how rude. She had the potential to be a great hurricane, but now she’s just a tropical storm.

Momentum, like Mother Nature, is something we cannot master. I often complain that every time I get a good stride that something somehow manages to slow my speed. I thought that if I could build enough speed my spark would turn into more sparks and eventually I would ignite into a great wild fire.

Perhaps, it’s time I stop trying to ignite the wet logs around me and become more fluid myself. When I lived in the Midwest, I was more likely to experience a forest fire than a flash flood. Now I’m learning more than I ever wanted to know about big waves.

Instead of trying to master momentum, I think it’s time to focus on discipline. If you have been following this blog you also know this is an area of weakness for me and something I have attempted, but with no clear focus.

Having discipline is what prepares us for opportunity. If we are not prepared, we risk drowning. I get this because I don’t know how to swim and find myself trying to do the things around me that don’t involve swimming. I make decisions based on my fears instead of learning how to do the things that will give me the opportunities to become more successful at living.

As for Irene, thanks for getting me wet.

[Dang, you dirty minds]

Comments
  1. The T says:

    dearest blogger…if ever you’d like to experience sheer terror in a hurricane you’re welcome at my house in the caribbean….the winds here can lift a car right off the side of a mountain…it diesnt care if you’re in it or under it….

    T.

Leave a Reply

