BAH GOBBLE BUG

Posted: November 24, 2011 in Just Life
Tags: , , , ,

I was standing in front of my closet trying to figure out what to wear in celebration of Thanksgiving. If you remember, my wardrobe is rather gloom and sparse. I have one brown sweater, but recently gave away my only pair of brown tennis shoes to match so now I’m in a dilemma. Do I attend dinner wearing the brown sweater with black and red cons or a black sweater to match the cons? Do I appear as trying to make the effort with a toasty warm vibe or a burnt to the crisp attitude?

There’s a rumor that this year we’re going around the table stating the things we’re thankful for and I’m horrified. It’s not because I’m an ungrateful bitch, but because I’m an honest one with a twisted sense of humor.

First, the holiday season drives me crazy because ‘tis the season to be ridiculous. However, I’ll save that tirade for later since I have plenty of good holiday stories to share.

Second, we all know you’re grateful for your family, your health, your kids, the roof over your head and the ABUNDANCE of food on your table. Seriously, other than stating the obvious, what are you truly thankful for on a daily basis when no one is listening in rush judgment so they can get their grub on?

Here is my list of daily thanks.

  1. New shoes: I never owned a pair of new shoes until I was in my twenties and I LOVE not walking in the print of someone else’s foot pattern.
  2. Toilet paper: We didn’t always have it and my mom would keep us stocked with napkins from McDonalds.
  3. My humor: I would never have survived without it because all of those obvious appreciations called family, health and wealth, are fucking stressful.

Well, I now have less than two hours to make some big decisions, but until then…

Gobble gobble my peeps.

Comments
  1. J.C.V. says:

    I’m sorry to hear about you having no new shoes till twenty, but you forgot to remember how very talented you are as a writer. I’m thankful you are sharing your writing.

  2. Writing Jobs says:

    Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much. You have a great blog here. Thanks again for sharing.

    Love commenting, blogging, or writing? We would love for you to join us!

    – Writers Wanted –

Leave a Reply

