MOURNING SIMPLICITY

Posted: April 13, 2012 in Darks, Just Life
Tags: , , , ,

Today I am in mourning for the loss of simplicity and all the moments I took for granted. Like when it took me ten minutes to fill out a 1040EZ while sitting at a bar the night before Tax Day and my only concern was that my refund was less than the bar tab.

Gone are the days when finding a great piece of furniture in the trash was awesome and bed bugs were not an epidemic.

Eating pizza and a Snickers bar for breakfast without questioning the calorie intake.

Leaving laundry at the mat unattended without losing all your panties.

Eating 7-11 nachos without heartburn.

Life insurance, what? Why do I need that? Oh, because now I care.

Saying no to mom without guilt.

Taking a crap without a kid opening the door asking why they can’t have more gummy vitamins.

Passion without sacrifice.

Comments
  1. troy7377 says:

    dude, you hit the nail on the head (and the nail bent) with the taxes.

  2. Posky says:

    You can still live dangerously and free without a safetynet of youth. But expect people to say you’re crazy and be ready for how bad it can get if you ever do fall.

  3. t.a. says:

    I feel you. (But finding a great piece of furniture in the trash is still awesome…. no privacy in the bathroom, not so awesome;)

  4. crubin says:

    Although privacy in the bathroom will eventually return (and thank god for that), the heartburn and bed bugs are probably here to stay. Sucks, doesn’t it?

    Nice post.

  5. This post is awesomely sadly funny.
    “Life insurance, what? Why do I need that? Oh, because now I care.” Hehe

    Now I gotta go clean up the coffee I snorted all over my computer as I laughed…

Leave a Reply

