SUMMER REHAB

Posted: October 4, 2012 in Just Life
Tags: , , , ,

Remember me, that chick living in the hood with a dream to write her way out?

I’m still here.

I took a break because I got so disgusted with myself and needed to detoxify my mood and emotions.

What does that mean?

I did things like renovate my bathroom, paint the house, and grow out my toenails.

It’s hard to keep yourself up all the time when the world feels so heavy. Writing had become my only coping skill and when it started working against me I knew it was time to make changes.

I started looking at the balance in my life like a seesaw and realized that I was either stuck in the air with a fat kid on the other end or I was the fat kid, no fun.

Now the kids are on a diet.

I’m working hard to cut down on the carbs of life and not binge eat my words in the night when I feel deprived.

I love writing so much that I’ll make myself sick. I’ll chase thoughts all day and disappear from the world like a junkie squatting in a crack house.

Now that my summer rehab is over it’s time to apply what I have learned to the page. However, just in case you’re nervous about what this means for you, don’t worry I stashed away a few hits that are guaranteed to keep you hooked.

Comments
  1. Yeah, sometimes a break helps you see things more clearly. Yes, I’ve grown my toenails out a couple of times — scary.

  2. Glad to have you back…Waiting for the “hits” to be sure.

  3. sammartino says:

    Write on, now pass the pipe… Cheers sister!

  4. meredethmcdowell says:

    Glad you are writing again…

  5. bethnyland says:

    You have the gift of words. I’m glad you’re ready to use them again.

  6. Heather says:

    I understand the need for a break. Sometimes it’s nice to step back, take a deep breath and put things in perspective.
    And while we all love your writing, we don’t want it to take over your entire life either!

Leave a Reply

