TURNING DIRTY

Posted: December 30, 2012 in Darks, Just Life
Tags: , , , , ,

Clean

How is it possible that I can spend so much time during the week picking up after everyone, cleaning, and organizing piles of crap, but here I sit in a mess greater than when I started?

One of my 2013 goals is to become a fucking slob. Goodbye neat freak!

All I do is waste my time, energy and sanity trying to create a tolerable space for my creativity to feel welcome. At this point, I would rather just go to the urine-scented library or sit on the bathroom floor behind the toilet.

So for all of you with goals to clean your messy house and get organized in 2013, don’t bother!

Take it from me, the happiness of a clean space is fleeting.

May the mess be with you.

Comments
  1. Power to the messy people!!

  2. Story Addict says:

    Haha, nice. I second that!

  3. troy7377 says:

    sitting on the bathroom floor behind the toilet is the dream, but there’s just not enough room…*sigh*

  4. deaubreydigest says:

    I have totally felt this way. I get to the point where I pick everyone’s shit up, put it in a tote tub and dump it in the middle of their beds. It’s not in my living space, it’s not where I need to work or cook, so it’s their problem to deal with. They should have dealt with it a LONG time before if they didn’t want rubbermaid sitting in the middle of their beds. UGH.

    I tried becoming a slob. I crossed my arms over my chest, stood back in the picture of a bratty teenage daughter and told my household under no circumstances was I cleaning anything. If they wanted clean laundry, they needed to do it themselves. If they wanted clean dishes, they had to do it themselves. If the dishes weren’t done, I wasn’t cooking any meals. Period.

    My house turned into something out of hoarders. I eventually went nuts, went to my dad’s for the scoop shovel he used to use on the farm animals and scooped things into trash bags, boxes, buckets…. anything to get it up off the floor so I could clean. I spent literal MONTHS cleaning everything back up again and when I got to the end, I was right back at the beginning.

    This was all before our move. When we moved into the new place and it started becoming too cluttered, I turned into a dill sergeant. “You. Dishes. NOW.”

    Now that we’ve moved AGAIN and thrown out more junk AGAIN, I’m actually feeling a little more sane. … until I look around the house and see the literal piles of SHIT. One of my roommates makes a sprawling pile. He keeps it contained under the television stand, but it still drives me insane.

    I think the secret is becoming okay with SOME messes and barking about the rest. When you figure out that secret, let me know. I’m still trying. It would be SO much easier if I could just become a slob. Let me know how it works out for you.

  5. Wish you a Messy New Year!

  6. i love a clean space. but making my space clean makes me sneeze. now what?

  7. breeroberts says:

    Cleaning your house while your kids are still growing up is like shoveling the walk before it stops snowing.
    Phyllis Diller

    I hate housework! You make the beds, you do the dishes and six months later you have to start all over again.
    Joan Rivers

    Cleaning with two toddlers and a husband that’s worse than the toddlers is like wiping your ass before the turd comes out – pointless. The only time I clean anymore is when the in-laws come to visit, and that’s only because my mother-in-law (who is an absolute angel but old and decrepit and needs her rest) would do all the cleaning while here and just wear herself out. I still have *some* conscience.

    If they can make a self-cleaning oven, then why the hell not a self-cleaning house?

Leave a Reply

